Mercer Slough Revisited

Heron using 1.3 megapixel cell phone camera

In April I wrote about Mercer Slough and how much of a nature and photographer’s paradise it is. If you remember, my goal was to shoot a reluctant Heron. I returned earlier this week for a quiet walk with no intention of photographing the scenery. I did have a 1.3 megapixel camera phone in my pocket, though.

During this walk I saw four Herons wandering in the blueberry patch. I watched them as they hunted for frogs and flew about. It was simply wonderful. After about 15 minutes I was beginning to regret not bringing the SLR along.  Unwilling to leave empty handed, I took some shots with my phone.

I wish I could tell you that I was able to use creative software techniques to enlarge the pictures to an adequate size while retaining the details. Unfortunately, the camera and sensor weren’t intended to deliver high quality results. However you don’t need details to create an attractive image. You need good composition and interesting subject matter.

The image in this post shows one of the Herons I mentioned. The overall scene was picturesque and pleasant. I did apply software techniques to the image, with the intent of rendering it into an attractive ‘miniature’ with a diffused appearance. I will let you judge the results for yourself, but I hope that you will understand that images do not have to be sharp or taken with your best gear to be worth viewing.

Before I forget, why not shop where I do. Click on the Adorama ad below to shop for photography gear and accessories and I will receive a small reward at no cost to you. Thanks!

Cheers,

Michael

Copyright Notice

© Michael J. O’Connell, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Michael J. O’Connell and this blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
This entry was published on June 22, 2012 at 2:43 PM. It’s filed under Nature Walks, Photography Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

